Chicagoans Must Quarantine if Traveling to These States

Chicago officials announced that if you are now traveling to a state where Coronavirus cases are rising, you must quarantine for 14 days:

The Chicago Department of Public Health has issued an Emergency Travel Order that directs travelers returning to Chicago from states experiencing COVID-19 hot spots to quarantine for 14 days.

The order will go into effect at O’Hare and Midway on Monday at 12:01 a.m. It applies to states that have a case rate greater than 15 new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 resident population, per day, over a 7-day rolling average.

The order applies to anyone traveling into Chicago as their final destination from a designated state. It includes both Chicago residents returning from visiting a designated state and travelers arriving in Chicago from a designated state.

As of data on July 2, the following states are included in the order:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah

Violators are subject to fines of $100-$500 per day, up to $7,000. Exceptions to the order for personal travel will be permitted for travel for medical care and parental shared custody, and for business travel to Chicago for essential workers.

Good to know in case you're traveling for 4th of July weekend!

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content